Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

AASHTO Journal

AASHTO Director John Horsley to Receive Award from TRB

John Horsley, executive director of the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials, has been named the recipient of the Transportation Research Board's 2012 W. N. Carey, Jr., Distinguished Service Award. Horsley will be presented with the award on Wednesday, Jan. 16 during the Chairman's Luncheon, for which he has also been asked to be the speaker, at TRB's 92nd Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C.

Horsley will receive the award for providing "outstanding leadership in support of national transportation research programs," according to TRB. Horsley's dedication in helping TRB foster a strong relationship with state transportation departments during his time at AASHTO was also a major factor in his receiving the honor.

"I am highly honored to receive this award," Horsley said. "TRB-administered research is vital to what we do at AASHTO."

The award comes just weeks before Horsley's scheduled retirement from AASHTO on February 2.

The Carey Award recognizes individuals who have provided leadership and distinguished service to TRB but who have not necessarily been personally involved in transportation research. The award is named after W. N. Carey, Jr., who served as TRB director from 1967-1980.

Questions regarding this article may be directed to